The alligator trapping license, permit, and two cites tags cost $272 for florida residents. The cost of an alligator trapping license, permit, and two CITES tags for non-Florida residents is more than $300. Florida trap is designed to catch alligators, while an ALLIGATORS IN THE WATER trap catches only gators.
Both types of traps can be used in Florida, but only one type is required to be registered with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) and the other type must be purchased from a licensed Florida dealer. In addition to the cost of the trap, you will also need to pay a fee for the tag and tag holder.
This fee varies depending on the type of trap you purchase, as well as the number of tags and tags holder you choose to purchase. For example, if you are purchasing a trap that only has one tag, the fee will be $10.00. If you want to buy a tag that has two tags, it will cost you an additional $20 for each additional tag.
Table of Contents
What is required to hunt alligators in Florida?
An alligator trapping license, an area specific harvest permit, and two CITES tags will be given to the successful applicants. They cost more than $1,000 for out-of-state hunters. At the end of the season, hunters are required to report their harvest to FWC.
(FWC) is the state agency responsible for regulating the harvest of alligators in Florida. (DACS) administers the Florida Alligator and Tortoise Conservation and Management Act (FACMAP), which regulates the harvesting and sale of gator and tortoise meat.
Can you go alligator hunting in Florida?
Alligator hunting is legal, but its not a free-for-all. The alligator hunting season is between August 15 and November 1 each year. The need for population control over the 1.3 million alligators that live in Florida led to the establishment of alligator hunting in 1988.
(FWC) is responsible for the management of the state’s wildlife resources. FWC regulates the hunting and trapping of Florida’s wild and exotic animals, as well as the possession, sale, and transportation of these animals.
Can you hunt and eat alligators in Florida?
If an alligator is deemed a nuisance by the florida fish and wildlife commission, it can be killed. Florida are protected under the state’s Endangered Species Act, which makes it illegal to kill, injure, harass, or disturb them without a permit from the FWC. Alligators are also listed as a threatened species under federal law.
How much is a gator tag in Florida?
The cost to apply for an alligator trapping license from another state is about $2,000. Commission, which regulates alligators in the state, said it has no plans to change the rules.
Do you need a license to hunt alligators in Florida?
A statewide alligator hunt permit is a type of limited entry permit required to participate in the statewide alligator harvest program. More than 15,000 people apply for the Statewide Alligator Hunt each year, making it a highly sought after limited entry hunt. Hunters must be 21 years of age or older and possess a valid hunting license or permit to hunt alligators in Florida.
All hunters must register their alligator hunt with the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) prior to the start of the hunting season. Hunters must also be at least 18 years old to purchase a firearm or bow and arrow, and must have a current Florida Driver’s License or Florida Non-Resident Identification Card (NREIC) in order to obtain a Florida Hunting License.
Can you get paid to hunt alligators in Florida?
The hunters often profit from their meat and their hides. All of the people appearing on Swamp People are licensed to catch alligators. It takes 30 days of the year to make hunting gators a job for the swamp people. The swamp people are not the only ones who hunt gator.