It’s difficult to believe that it’s legal to own an alligator in some states. You don’t need a permit or license in Alabama, Nevada, North Carolina, South Carolina and Wisconsin.
Alligators can be found in the wild in Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia, according to the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC). They can also be purchased from pet stores, reptile shows and pet supply stores.
Alligators are also available for sale in pet shops and online.
Table of Contents
Can you buy an alligator for a pet?
It’s likely not legal in your state to own one. Exotic pets like alligators are not allowed in many states. Florida allows you to own them but you must be licensed and have a permit to keep them in the state.
How much is a 10 ft gator worth?
You don’t know if that is worth it. This particular opening is for capturing nuisance alligators, which are those that are posing a particular threat to people or property. If you want to capture a nuisance alligator, you’ll need to get a permit from the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC).
You can get one at the FWC office in Tallahassee, or you can call 1-888-FWCC-TALLAHASSEE or visit their website at www.floridafishandwildlife.org. The fee is $25 for a first time permit, and $50 for each additional permit.
You must have a valid Florida driver’s license or Florida identification card to apply for the permit and you must be 21 years of age or older to purchase or receive one. If you are under the age of 21, your parent or legal guardian must sign for you.
What states are alligators legal?
Some states allow the ownership of an alligator. Wyoming are included in the group. “Alligators are not pets, they are wild animals that are protected under the federal Endangered Species Act,” the group said in a statement.
Can alligators love humans?
Crocodiles don’t experience that emotion and that is the reason. Love is an emotion only found in species that form pair bonds and care for their young. Crocodilians care for their offspring only in a very limited fashion and will eat them once that is no longer possible, and they are not capable of experiencing love. This is not to that crocodiles are incapable of feeling love, of course.
Can a baby alligator hurt you?
State law states that it is against the law to do that. Alligators do not become tame in captivity and handling even small ones may result in bites. Don’t pick up baby alligators or go near them.
They may seem cute and harmless, but mama alligator will be nearby and will protect her clutch for at least a few hours. Alligators are not wild animals and should not be handled. If you have any questions, please contact the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Can you own a gator in Florida?
American alligators for personal use, you must have a Class A license from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. You must also be at least 18 years of age. Alligators are protected under the federal Endangered Species Act (ESA) and are listed as a threatened species by the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources (IUCN).
To obtain a license to possess an alligator in captivity, contact the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) at 1- or visit www.floridafishandwildlife.org. To obtain a license to possess an alligator in captivity, contact the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) at 1- or visit www.floridafishandwildlife.org. Alligator breeding is prohibited in the state of Florida.
You may not purchase, sell, trade, possess, transport, import, export, or import into or from Florida any captive-bred or wild-captive-reared gator. Any person who violates this section commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000.00 or by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one (1) year or both such fine and imprisonment.
How old is a 13 gator?
Lee, the gator was between 65 and 70 years old and was 13 feet, 4 inches long. Lee said he was able to capture the video on his cell phone, which he posted to YouTube. The video has been viewed more than 1.5 million times.
Are alligators worth money?
Louisiana alligator hunters used to make between $20 and $40 per foot of alligator meat, but the price has dropped to $5 per pound. “It’s a lot cheaper than it was a few years ago, and it’s good for the environment, too,” .