Louisiana residents at least 16 years of age are required to apply for the lottery. Successful applicants need to pay a set fee per alligator harvest tag and submit a completed application to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. Hunters must have a valid Louisiana hunting license to hunt alligators in Louisiana.
All hunters must also possess a current Louisiana Hunting and Trapping License, which is valid for one (1) year from the date of issuance. Friday, excluding federal holidays. Hunters may also obtain a license by mail at the address listed on the license. Alligators is a Class C misdemeanor.
Table of Contents
How much is a guided alligator hunt in Louisiana?
All hunts include meals and lodging. A $50 fee is charged for cleaning your alligator. Upon booking your hunt, a $500 deposit is required and your remaining balance will be due at the time of arrival. All hunters must be at least 18 years of age to participate in a Louisiana Guided Hunt.
Hunters under 18 must have a parent or guardian with them at all times during the hunt. (DEWF) is not responsible for lost, stolen, or damaged hunting equipment. If you have any questions about hunting in Louisiana, please contact the Louisiana DFW at or visit www.dewf.louisiana.gov. If you have any questions about hunting in Louisiana, please contact the Louisiana DFW at or visit www.dewf.louisiana.gov.
How much do gator hunters get per gator?
Alligator hunters don’t make a lot of money until they have an alligator to show. The amount of a hunter’s income can vary a lot. According to some hunters, they can make up to $40 per foot of gator.
Alligator hunting is a popular sport in Florida, but it is illegal to hunt alligators in the state. Alligators are protected under the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s (FWC) Endangered Species Act (ESA) and are listed as a threatened species by the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).
What is the best time to go alligator hunting?
The alligator hunting seasons begin in august and end in november. Alligator hunting on private land is allowed in some states. It’s possible that the weather will affect whether or not you’ll be able to hunt alligators in your backyard.
What caliber rifle Do alligator hunters use?
Many gator hunters don’t buy a specific firearm for this. LR round is the most popular round for hunting gators in Florida. It is also the round most commonly used by hunters in other parts of the country. This is a lot of rounds for a small game animal, but it does not mean that they are easy to find. The easiest way is to look for them in your local gun shop.
Most gun shops will have a section of their shelves dedicated to hunting ammunition. You will also find them at sporting goods stores, gun shows, flea markets, and other places that sell hunting supplies. Some gun stores will even have the ammunition in their backrooms, so you can walk in and pick it up without having to go through a long line.
Where do you shoot an alligator in the head?
To safely and humanely dispatch the alligator aim for the center of the spine directly behind the skull plate. The skull of an alligator is very dense and can cause serious injury or even death. Do not attempt to remove the gator’s head from its body.
How long is gator season in Louisiana?
The east and west alligator hunting zones are divided into Sport Hunting Louisiana. The east and west zones open on the last Wednesday of August and first Wednesday of September, respectively. From the date of the zone’s opening, each zone is open for 60 days. Hunters must be at least 18 years of age to hunt alligators in Louisiana.
Alligators are protected under the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Code, which prohibits the possession, sale, purchase, or transfer of any gator, including, but not limited to, live, dead, and captive-bred gators. Possession or sale of live or dead animals is prohibited in the state of Louisiana, except for the purpose of scientific research or educational purposes.
It is also illegal to possess or sell any animal that has been injured or killed by a person who is not licensed to do so. In addition, it is illegal for any person to sell or offer for sale any live animal, regardless of whether the animal is dead or alive, unless the person is a licensed wildlife rehabilitator licensed by the Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks (DWP).
DWP does not issue licenses to rehabilitators, nor does it issue permits to purchase live animals.
What does alligator taste like?
It tastes like quail, with a mildly fishy flavor, but is not very hard to chew. U.S., it’s often served as an appetizer or side dish, although it can also be eaten raw.